B.C. Ferry Authority (Authority) is an independent, no-share capital corporation created under the Coastal Ferry Act (British Columbia) that holds the single issued voting share of British Columbia Ferry Services Inc. (BC Ferries), a company incorporated in British Columbia, which is subject to the Business Corporations Act (British Columbia). The provincial government is the holder of all of the preferred shares of BC Ferries. The Authority is responsible for appointing the Board of Directors of BC Ferries and for establishing compensation plans for the Directors and certain Executives of BC Ferries. Both the Authority and BC Ferries operate independently of the provincial government.



In accordance with the Coastal Ferry Act, the B.C. Ferry Authority is seeking nominations for its Board of Directors for a term commencing April 1, 2020 from the Southern Mainland and the Southern Vancouver Island Appointment Areas. These Appointment Areas comprise the following Regional Districts:
Southern Mainland:
  • Metro Vancouver Regional District - Nominations are now closed
  • Squamish Lillooet Regional District
  • Sunshine Coast Regional District - Nominations are now closed
Southern Vancouver Island:
  • Cowichan Valley Regional District - Nominations are now closed
  • Capital Regional District - Nominations are now closed​
We invite you to review the information provided on this site. Expressions of interest should be submitted to your local Regional District office. Final nominations are up to the Regional District Boards.